Prime Minister reshuffles Cabinet for Political stability

Thursday 1 October 2020

Prime Minister, James Marape today made changes to  the    Cabinet that will consolidate stability, enhance leadership at the political level to drive key policy priorities of the Government and which capitalize on the skills and capabilities of individual ministers.

New Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for National Planning and Monitoring, Hon. Sam Basil (left), Governor -General Grand Chief Sir Bob Dadae (centre) and Prime Minister, Hon. James Marape (right) at Government House this afternoon, following the swearing-in ceremony of the new Ministers of Cabinet.

Changes to the Ministry are:

  • Sam Basil, MP will become Deputy Prime Minister, whilst retaining his existing portfolio for National Planning;
  • Jelta Wong, MP will become Minister for Civil Aviation;
  • Sir Puka Temu, MP will become Minister for Health, drawing on his considerable medical background;
  • William Onglo will become Minister for Energy, a new critical ministry that will coordinate the development and implementation of benchmark policies to deliver power to our villages, regions, towns and cities;
  • Leka Gure, MP will move from Civil Aviation to become Minister for Labour and Employment; and
  • Walter Schnaubelt, MP will become Minister for Culture, Tourism and the National Museum.

Two Ministers  who were decommissioned are: Hon. Jeffrey Kama, Minister for Labour and Industrial Relations and Hon. Emil Tammur,  Minister for Culture, Tourism and the National Museum.

Both Ministers were   consulted and graciously offered to step down to concentrate on their respective electoral duties.

“I thank both Mr Kama and Mr Tammur for their service to the Government.”

Prime Minister Marape  will personally assume responsibility for Bougainville Affairs.

“ I consider this appropriate as we enter critical consultations on the next step of the Bougainville peace process.”

Meantime, Hon. Davis Steven, retains the  Ministry of  Justice and Attorney General portfolio.

Mr Marape expressed his gratitude to Mr Steven   for his contribution as Deputy Prime Minister over the past 16 months.

Minister Steven will also continue to play a critical role as Chairman of the Social, Law and Order Ministerial Committee.

“These changes draw on the substantial capabilities within our Government.  They come at a critical time when our nation faces great challenges from the economic shock caused by the COVID 19 pandemic.”

The changes also adhere to a ratio of three to one in the allocation of ministries against party representation, and this has been a key factor in   Mr Marape’s  decision making.

Prime Minister  congratulated all Ministers on their new roles and  is  confident   that  he has  in place, a team that will deliver effective policy outcomes and secure the future of  the  nation.

Please share