National Executive Council approves Members of the National Honours and Awards Council

Friday 11  September 2020

The National Executive Council has recently approved the appointment of the new Chairman and Members of the National Honours and Awards Council.

The Prime Minister, Hon. James Marape said Cabinet has also approved to rescind the previous decisions in relation to the appointment of members of the Council and the Chairman, Sir Frederick Reiher.

The new Members of the Council comprised:

(i)     President, National Council of Churches – Chairman;

(ii)    President, National Council of Women;

(iii)   Official Secretary to the Governor General;

(iv)    Secretary, Department for Community Development & Religion;

(v)     Secretary, Department of Prime Minister & NEC;

(vi)    Secretary, Department of Defence; and

(vii)   Commissioner of Police.”

“Cabinet has also approved for the function of the Council to be transferred to the Department of Prime Minister & NEC.”

The Prime Minister said Cabinet further directed that the Department of Personnel Management include the Honours and Awards Function as a Branch of the Department of Prime Minister & NEC in the restructure of the Department that is taking place soon.


Please share