Marape officially opens Telefomin Rural General Hospital

Friday 18 September 2020

Prime Minister Hon. James Marape,, officially opened  the fully equipped level 4 Telefomin Rural General Hospital  today and  applauded Telefomin District for its emergence in the country as a model district, over just seven years.

Prime Minister Hon. James Marape, addressing the people of Telefomin during the official opening of Telefomin Rural General Hospital, West Sepik Province. (photo credit: PM’s Media Unit)

He said proper health facilities like the Telefomin hospital was vital for any community and he commended the Telefomin District Administration and its Member of Parliament,, Hon. Solan Mirisin, for their  vision and tireless efforts in ensuring this important facility was delivered to the people of Telefomin.

The new Telefomin Rural Hospital is now equipped with a proper maternity  ward and delivery room, a dental clinic, surgical theatre and proper facilities, among others

“For the rest of rural PNG, if Telefomin District – a very remote  district, who brings in its school and health necessities, development materials and store goods entirely by air mode of transportation, I don’t see why other rural districts cannot change for the better.

“To give hope to the rest of PNG, this Government’s commitment in Waigani now is to transfer equally and fairly distribute whatever resources we can collect to all of PNG, and not just the major towns, while the districts are left behind,”  Mr  Marape said.

“it also proves a point that you can deliver basic services through provincial and district conduits.

“And, the classical difference is leadership. Good leadership at the district and provincial level can make a tremendous difference, not just at the political level.”

During the opening, the Australian High Commissioner H.E. Jonathan Philps was given the honour to cut the ribbon of the hospital while Mr  Marape unveiled the plaque officially commissioning this government facility.

Also present  during the official  opening were the Governor  for Hela, Philip Undialu,  West Sepik Governor, Tony Wouwou, Western Province Governor, Taboi Yoto, Member for  Nuku, Joseph Sungi,  and the Member for  North Fly, James Donald.


Please share